St. Lawrence NYSARC Holds Annual Meeting

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – St. Lawrence NYSARC, ( a non-profit corporation dedicated to working for people with intellectual and other developmental disabilities, recently held their Annual Dinner Meeting at SUNY Potsdam’s Barrington Student Union to elect the officers as well as honor staff members, volunteers and participants.

The elected officers for St. Lawrence NYSARC’s Board of Directors for 2012-2013 are as follows: Patricia Campanella, President; Jackie Sauter, 1st Vice President; Anne Townsend, 2nd Vice President; Clyde Butz, Treasurer and Phyllis Shimmel, Secretary.

Staff members, program participants, volunteers, and employees were recognized for their achievements during the past year. Jay Pecora of SUNY Potsdam’s Drama Department was honored with the Agency’s 2012 Community Spirit Award. Pecora was chosen in appreciation for his work as the driving force for the partnership between SUNY Potsdam and the Community Arts Program. He was recognized for his innovative methods of integrating people with disabilities in the community.

The St. Lawrence NYSARC Staff Member of the Year is Beth Clary, Assistant Practitioner II, based in Canton. Clary was selected for her dedication, quality work ethic, and kindness. Billy Peets received the Seaway Industries Employee of the Year Award. He works for the Agency’s Seaway Industries located in Massena. Peets was recognized for his positive attitude, tireless work ethic, and long-standing commitment as an employee.

Board Members and Administration also recognized staff members celebrating an anniversary for years of service. The following staff members were acknowledged for five years of service: Cindy Anderson, Cory Burgess, Courtney Carr, Kathleen Charleson, Dana Denhoff, Ann Deruchia, Harry Dye, Jesse Fregoe, Shauna Gall, James Gotham, Charles Hall, Amy Harper, Christopher Hayes, Kelly Hendrickson, Robert Howell, Zack Love, Gregory Mastro, Jessica Nezezon, Bonnie Russell, Ann Stratton and Sarah Tooley.

In honor of ten years of service, the following people were recognized: Caroline Bedrosian, Karen Bishop, Jaime Cameron, Megan Coughlin, Steven Danenberger, Dawn Daniels, Donna Davis, Paul Doane, Carol Flanagan, Shannon Giarratano, Wanda Keleher, Daniel Kingsley, Emily Lassial, Barbara Miller, Candace Passino, Randy Payne, Dave Pearson, Kathy Phillips, Aurora Savage, Mari-Jo Siddon, Robert Stratton, Crystal Wells, Jeremy Willard, Sherry Willard, Robert Williams, Penny Woodard and Cindy Yerden.

In honor of 15 years of service, the Agency acknowledged: James Bertrand, Paul Coyle, James Flanagan, Deborah Frary, Martin Gleeson, Sandra Greenwood, Katherine Roberts, Rebecca Stransky and Nettie Whitford. The following staff members were recognized for 20 years of service: Robyn Clintsman, Roger Clouse, Tina Garrow and Nancy Morehouse.

St. Lawrence NYSARC also honored Melody Beaudin, Rebecca Blair, Jeffrey Clary, Michael Connor, Elizabeth Coughlin, Diane Cutry, Beth Foster, Roxana O'Donnel, Darlene Friot, Lorie Gladle, Lucille Hartson, Phyllis Hipp, Mark Keller, Mary Page and Kim Thompson for 25 years of service.

As an Agency first, Daphne Pickert, St. Lawrence NYSARC’s CEO/Executive Director was recognized for 35 years of dedicated employment.

# # #

In photo from left to right: William Peets, St. Lawrence NYSARC’s Employee of the Year and John Morrison, St. Lawrence NYSARC’s Director of Seaway Industries.

August 2, 2012