St. Lawrence NYSARC Holds Annual Meeting to Honor Achievements

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – St. Lawrence NYSARC, ( a non-profit corporation dedicated to working for people with intellectual and other developmental disabilities, held their Annual Dinner Meeting on May 10, 2013 at SUNY Potsdam’s Barrington Student Union. The meeting also served to elect the Agency’s slate of officers for 2013-2014 and honor staff members, volunteers and participants.

The elected officers for St. Lawrence NYSARC’s Board of Directors for 2013-2014 are as follows: Patricia Campanella, President; Jackie Sauter, 1st Vice President; Anne Townsend, 2nd Vice President; Clyde Butz, Treasurer and Phyllis Shimmel, Secretary.

Staff members, program participants, volunteers, and employees were recognized for their achievements during the past year. Dick Alexander was honored with the Agency’s 2013 Community Spirit Award. Alexander was chosen in appreciation for his support of special projects at Dodge Pond, such as a pavilion, cabins, and items to support maple syrup production. The St. Lawrence NYSARC Staff Member of the Year for 2012 was Dana Denhoff, Residential Habilitation Assistant for Children and Youth services. Denhoff was selected for his dedication, flexibility, and concern for the young people he supports. Jody Butchino received the 2012 Seaway Industries Employee of the Year Award. She works at the Agency’s Massena work site. Butchino was recognized for her positive attitude, dependability, and tireless work ethic.

Board Members and Administration also recognized staff members celebrating an anniversary for years of service. The following staff members were acknowledged for five years of service: Joan Avery, Christine Bond, Roselyn Briggs, Tara Cardinell, Bonnie Crites, Elizabeth Crossman, Shawn Durham, Susan Forsythe, Darin Freeman, Tina Gladle, Scott Grant, Tyrone Gravelle, John Guiney, Jr., Kristina Kelly-Snow, Wayne LaPage, Carol Lavassauer, Patrick Mackey, James Meagher, Amanda Meashaw, Lynn Measheaw, Myndi Murphy, Nils Peterson, Albert Petrosky III, Patricia Planty, Autumn Posadni-Seale, Timothy Reese, Sr., Melissa Smith, Brenda Tracy, and Tara Woodrow.

In honor of ten years of service, the following people were recognized: Bonnie Brothers, Cindy Cardinell, Angela Denson, Judy Deshane, Sandra Froats, Deborah Holly, Kelly Hull, Karen Jarvis, Debra Kelly, Donna Lashway, Laura Link, Christina McIntosh, Lisa Morrow, Heidi Stalker, and Michelle Wright.

In honor of 15 years of service, the Agency acknowledged: Brenda Aldridge-Bush, Liane Bordeaux, Cheryl Burr, Larry Hall, Erin Hance, Gerald Hewitt, Jr., Ann Howell, Dawn Mitchell, Rebecca Morrill, Patrick Murphy, Ruth Sessions and Tammy Stiles.

The following staff members were recognized for 20 years of service: Paula Gonyou, Joseph Holmes, Deborah Love, Betty Pelkey, Roancy Smith, Meaghan Voss and Gina Wiley.

St. Lawrence NYSARC also honored Diane Baxter, Beth Clary, Catherine Gladding, Sandra Macioce, Donna Sienkiewycz, Susan Trombley, Beth Turner, and Rita Wood for 25 years of service.

Brenda Gemmill and Joanne Rubadue were recognized for 30 years of employment to the Agency.

A record number of three staff were recognized for 35 years of service. Those dedicated staff members include: Joan Bond, Diane Freego, and Gina Nadeau.

# # #
In photo #1 from L to R: Jody Butchino, Seaway Industries Employee of the Year and Jim Love, Associate Executive Director of Day Services for St. Lawrence NYSARC.

In photo #2 from L to R: Dana Denhoff, St. Lawrence NYSARC Staff Member of the Year, Daphne Pickert, CEO of St. Lawrence NYSARC, and Nancy Davis, Associate Executive Director of Clinical and Youth Services.

About St. Lawrence NYSARC:
St. Lawrence NYSARC exists as a non-profit membership association dedicated to full inclusion and integration for persons with intellectual and other developmental disabilities within our communities. The Agency’s mission is to offer individuals and their families an opportunity to achieve self-determined goals and provide life-long learning opportunities.

Michelle Quinell-Gayle
Assistant Executive Director of Community Relations
St. Lawrence NYSARC

May 20, 2012